Romney Sheep

 

Romney sheep breeders listingRomney Sheep breeders listing & info

The Romney is a British long wool sheep that evolved in the low wet Romney Marsh district in southeast England during the 13th century. Geographically isolated from the rest of the country, the Romney developed on its own and adapted well to its damp and often harsh environment. It was exported to New Zealand in 1853 where it flourished and became the dominant breed in that country. Because of its natural resistance to footrot and internal parasites, the Romney has become popular in the wet coastal regions of British Columbia, Canada.

The lambs are large and lean and convert feed efficiently. They are docile and easily managed but do not compete well when mixed with other breeds and commercial sheep. Romney wool is in demand with hand spinners who will pay a premium for good fleeces.

Le Romney est un mouton britannique à laine longue qui a été développé dans la zone basse et humide des Marais Romney dans le sud-est de l'Angleterre au cours du 13ième siècle. Géographiquement isolé du reste du pays, le Romney s'est développé seul et s'est bien adapté à son environnement humide et souvent rigoureux exporté en Nouvelle-Zélande en 1853 où il a prospéré et est devenu la race dominante dans ce pays. Au Canada, en raison de sa résistance naturelle au piétin et aux parasites internes, le Romney est devenu populaire dans les régions côtières humides de la Colombie Britannique.

Les agneaux sont grands et maigre et ont une bonne conversion alimentaire. Ils sont dociles et facilement gérés, mais ne rivalisent pas bien lorsque mélangés avec d'autres races ou avec des moutons commerciaux. La laine du Romney est en demande chez les fileurs artisanaux qui payeront une prime pour de bonnes toisons.

American Romney Breeders Association

Characteristics of Romney Sheep

90 - 100 kg

Rams / Béliers

65- 80  kg

Ewes / Brebis

175 %

Lamb/Ewe Percentage / Pourcentage d’agnelage

Medium coarse, lustrous white

Fleece / Qualité de la toison  

4.5 kg

Weight / Poids

15 - 20 cm

Staple Length / Longueur de fibre

31 - 36

Micron Count / Micron

Romney Sheep breeders listing

  • Ann's Farm Registered Romney - BC 604-856-2999
  • Autumn Hills Woolens, Jeff Seldomridge - 255 Artesia Rd., Wellington, Nevada, USA 775-465-2926 jseldomridge@lyon-county.org 
  • Disdero Ranch, Laurie Morris - Barriere, BC 604-219-8601 www.disderoranch.ca
  • Green Glen Farm, William & Cindy Van Duin - 3110 Alberni Hwy Qualicum Beach, BC V9K 1X3 250-752-2220 Fax: 752-0700 vanduin@shaw.ca
  • Halstead Farm, Megan Halstead - Box 215 Merville, BC V0R 2M0 250-337-5589 halsteadfarm@gmail.com 
  • Lickety Spit Fibre Farm - 107 Binbrook Rd Binbrook ON L0R 1C0 905-537-7584 info@licketyspitfibrefarm.ca  f:  licketyspitfibrefarm  i: lickety_spit_fibre_farm
  • Rose Haven Farm, Linda Swaine - RR 2, Durham, ON, N0G 1R0 519-369-5645 rosehavn@log.on.ca www.rosehavenfarm.net
  • Dean & Jennifer Siewert - Cranbrook, BC 250-417-3964 siewert4.bc@gmail.com
  • Silverlane Farm, Faye Labelle - PO Box 134 New Germany, NS B0R IE0 902-644-2062 silverlanefarm@hotmail.com 
  • VC Heritage Farms, Michelle Veltri - Box 1904 Camrose AB T4V 1X8 604-751-0537 meeshacaron@yahoo.ca
  • Willow Farm, Josslyn Richardson - RR 3 7783 Conc Rd 2 Wellandport, ON L0R 2J0 905-957-6266 willowfarm@sympatico.ca

If you wish to see your farm listed on this page, please contact us.